Institutional Review Board

All people wanting to conduct research using in human subjects (including survey research) need to get approval from the Institutional Review Board (IRB) [some projects are “exempt” and do not need IRB approval – contact the IRB if you need clarification]. All institutions that conduct research on human subjects are legally required to have an IRB. The purpose of the IRB is to review research projects proposed by or specifically including as subjects employees and/or students of Missouri Valley College, and to ensure that projects not only demonstrate the humane and ethical principles of respect, beneficence, and justice, but also comply with federal regulations.  A project that receives IRB approval may be conducted at Missouri Valley College within the constraints set forth by the IRB and by other institutional and federal requirements. The Institutional Review Board (IRB) of Missouri Valley College (MVC) acts in accordance with federal regulations established by the Department of Health and Human Services National Institutes of Health Office for Protection from Research Risks.

Anyone wishing to conduct research should contact the IRB for further information at the e-mail address below. Instructions for submitting a research proposal can be found at the links below.


IRB Members

IRB Chair: Dr. Brian C. Nolan, Associate Professor
Division of Social Science

Dr. Larry Godsey, Assistant Professor (on leave, military duty)
Division of Business

Tracey Hartley, Assistant Professor
Division of Business

Lisa Rice, Assistant Professor
Division of Education

Patti Meyer, Associate Professor
Division of Communications, Humanities, & Human Services

Harold Hynick, Associate Professor
Division of Fine Arts

Waylon Hiler, Associate Professor
Division of Math and Science

Debra Gage RN, Assistant Professor
School of Nursing

Diane Bartholomew, Vice President of Academic Affairs

Helpful Documents

Instructions for Applicants

Expedited Review Checklist

Full Review Checklist

IRB Handbook (for IRB Committee Members) available upon request at